ordinary.freakshow

Respect for Marriage Act

Two days ago, history reached Congress.

I honestly thought that this day would never come. In fact, I am still in shock. I am speechless.

Two days ago, the Respect for Marriage Act (RMA) reached Congress. During President Clinton’s term, the Defense of Marriage Act was written and was reluctantly signed by the then democratic administration. DOMA would infringe upon all LGBTQ rights everywhere… No married gay couple would receive the rights that they deserve. But now, RMA was written, and DOMA might finally actually be repealed.

I am still in shock.

If RMA is passed and DOMA repealed, I swear I will take to the streets. We all should.

There is strong support for RMA, and celebration is due.

Maybe. Just maybe.

September 18, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , | 2 Comments